NFL Week 7 Picks

I haven’t been doing so hot the last couple of weeks with my picks. It’s mostly because I’m picking the wrong upsets and having too much faith in the teams I picked to do well at the beginning of the year. Dallas and Miami, I’m looking right at you two. Let’s see if I can turn things around this week. We’ve got some picks that look easy, a few that could go either way and a couple of over-hyped but exciting division games scheduled at prime-time!

Cincinnati Bengals vs. Atlanta Falcons

Atlanta’s secondary was torched by the Eagles last week and the Bengals had to like what they saw since they have a potentially great passing game. The problem is that Carson Palmer’s been struggling in key situations and that’s really brought the team down along with Chad Ochocinco having a couple off-weeks. I say the Falcons rebound and get an ugly win with Michael Turner leading the way.

Pick: Falcons

Washington Redskins vs. Chicago Bears

Likely another ugly game since we’ve got two interception prone QBs and two tough defenses going at it. I’m going to give to the edge to the Redskins because the Bears have looked simply terrible the last few weeks while the Redskins have looked…..well less terrible.

Pick Redskins

Philadelphia Eagles vs. Tennessee Titans

Man, any game with a team from the AFC South in it is hard to pick because they’re all so unpredictable. The Titans being one of the biggest offenders. I don’t even know who is the starting QB for them since I haven’t been following but I think the Eagles will win this. Kevin Kolb is settling in this offense nicely and they proved me wrong big time last week. Chris Johnson might have a huge day against their D though.

Pick: Titans

Jacksonville Jaguars vs. Kansas City Chiefs

Jaguars are starting Todd Bouman at QB…either MJD will have to win this game by himself or Bouman surprise the shit out of me for the Jags to win. Chiefs should have this.

Pick: Chiefs

Pittsburgh Steelers vs. Miami Dolphins

Hard for me to pick against the Dolphins but unless Henne improves drastically, the Steelers D will handle him fine. I was on the Henne bandwagon until that New England game. The Steelers offense has some question marks themselves since Big Ben had his miscues against Cleveland last Sunday but they still got the job done and I think they’ll continue to roll in this game.

Pick: Steelers

Cleveland Browns vs. New Orleans Saints

Why do I feel this has “Trap Game” written all over it? Probably just speculation with all the weird things that have happened this season. Still taking the Saints.

Pick: Saints

St Louis Rams vs. Tampa Bay Buccaneers

A little apprehensive about taking St. Louis on the road because they’ve struggled all year away from the Edwards Jones Dome. The Bucs games against the Steelers and Saints both gave me the indication that they aren’t for real this year but the Rams have been simply awful on the road, so it’s making lean towards taking the Bucs. Home-away is kind of a poor thing to judge teams on but it’s been that way this season.

Pick: Bucs

San Francisco 49ers vs. Carolina Panthers

Arguably the best chance for the Panthers to win so far this season and the homer in me is making me take them. It could be a repeat of that Bears game a couple weeks ago but I think the Panthers will be on the winning end of it this time.

Pick: Panthers

Buffalo Bills vs. Baltimore Ravens

Sorry Bills, it’s going to be a long afternoon.

Pick: Ravens

Arizona Cardinals vs. Seattle Seahawks

Whether the Seahawks win this game or not will depend on whether or not they can not turn the ball over. That’s the only reason the Cards knocked off the Saints a couple weeks ago. The Seahawks seem to be somewhat legit this season so I’m think they will win.

Pick: Seahawks

Oakland Raiders vs. Denver Broncos

I don’t know why but the Broncos always seem to slip to the Raiders at home or at least they have the last couple of years. Unless I start to see a different Jason Campbell, then I don’t think the Raiders have a shot. The Broncos have been holding their own against tough opponents so beating the Raiders shouldn’t be that much of a problem for them.

Pick: Broncos

New England Patriots vs. San Diego Chargers

Don’t know what’s wrong with the Chargers but this has “upset” written all over it. Philip Rivers has put up a ton of yards every week and yet SD only has two wins. The Pats traded their best receiver but their offense still looks in good shape. However, the Chargers in a must-win situation but it’s kind of tough to pick them since the Pats are on a roll. For some reason, I think the Chargers will do it since they’re desperate. Nothing against the Patriots…I seem to be picking against them every week.

Pick: Chargers

Minnesota Vikings vs. Green Bay Packers

Yeah, I’m sick of hearing about it too…. but hopefully this will at least be a good game. Green Bay’s in a rough situation with all of their injuries but the Vikings aren’t playing that well right now, either. The win last week was due to stupid mistakes on the Cowboys part. The Packers have similar discipline problems too but I think they will win all problems aside. Minnesota’s secondary is in a lot of trouble right now.

Pick: Packers

New York Giants vs. Dallas Cowboys

Can’t wait to see this game and watch the Cowboys masterful plan to beat the Giants come into action. “SWING PASSES TO FELIX JONES! EACH ONE MORE DEVASTATING THEN THE LAST!” Can only work for so long, Garrett. I am interested to see how the Giants o-line handles the pass rush from DeMarcus Ware and Jay Ratliff because Eli’s been getting hit quite a few times this season. Let’s just say I’m off the Dallas bandwagon for now because they’ve screwed me multiple times this year in Pick ‘Em. That and the Giants defensive line plays awesome against teams that pass a lot, which is what the Cowboys do.

Pick: Giants

 

Leave a Reply

