Obligatory Super Bowl post

I haven’t posted anything football related in a little bit and the Super Bowl is tomorrow so I guess I should post something just for the sake of it. This was mostly a football blog for a good part of last year and it’s been mostly hockey stuff ever since the season ended. I’m planning to do a couple write-ups on the Panthers with what I think they should do this off-season in free agency and the draft. Those could be up anytime from the next few hours to the next few weeks depending on what else I have going on.

Anyway, I guess I’ll weigh in my two cents about the Super Bowl tomorrow. For one, the fact that the only game I’m really excited about tomorrow is the Caps-Pens at 12:30 on NBC should tell you how excited I am about the game. It will be a good matchup, though. I’ve said a few times this year that the Steelers were the best team in the AFC next to the Patriots and here they are again in the Super Bowl. At the beginning of the playoffs, I picked the Packers to go to the Super Bowl because Aaron Rodgers has been playing on a whole other level this year and their defense has been playing strong enough to stop teams like the Eagles, Falcons and Saints. I sound like I’m just tooting my own horn here but it’s a rare occurrence that I’m right so let me soak it all in.

Onto predicting the actual game, these two should deliver a very entertaining game. We’ve got the Steelers strong D and surprisingly good offense and the Packers great offense and surprisingly good defense but which team has the advantage and how important is it? The Packers have an arguably better passing game with how well Rodgers is playing but Ben Roethlisberger has won before and knows how to do it. The Steelers have a better running game with Rashard Mendenhall even if James Starks has had a good post-season so far and the Steelers definitely have a better defense but let’s see how the two teams matchup.

I’m going to spare you a 1000+ word preview like I usually write for Panthers games and give you the abridged version. Neither team’s defense is going to surrender a lot of points even if both offenses have a lot of firepower. The Steelers have a poor offensive line and the Packers have Clay Matthews and BJ Raji on the other side of the ball so Big Ben’s going to find himself scrambling a lot. The Steelers managed to get past the Terrell Suggs and Haloti Ngata and the Ravens pass rush three weeks ago so they could do the same against Green Bay. If they can run the ball efficiently with Mendenhall and control the clock like they did against the Jets two weeks ago then they will definitely have the upper hand. I actually think the Packers secondary matches up with Pittsburgh’s receivers well. Tramon Williams did well against DeSean Jackson and Roddy White while Charles Woodson can shut down Hines Ward.

I don’t expect the Packers to even try to run the ball against the Steelers defense so it’ll be up to their passing game to get it done. The Steelers corners are very vulnerable and the Packers have a QB and receivers that can take advantage of that.  Troy Polamalu will have to be on top of his game to help out Ike Taylor and Bryant McFadden. I think that’s what decides the game so I’m going with the prediction of the Packers winning 23-17. Who really wants to see the Steelers win another Super Bowl, anyway?

One more note, you know how some people only watch the Super Bowl for the commercials? Yeah, I’m definitely not in that camp. Yay more sexism and toilet humor! Anyway, I’m looking forward to the game but even more excited for the off-season. Panthers are going to have to make some moves.

Leave a Reply

