One final note

So…I have had a couple days to reflect on the Capitals’ Stanley Cup run that never was and I feel pretty similar to last year. I’m obviously disappointed that we were bounced in embarrassing fashion again but life goes on. There’s a lot of people who are saying that their time invested in this team is a waste and I just can’t get into that mindset. I always thought life was more about the process instead of the result and I’ll be damned if I didn’t have a good time watching the Caps this year. Sure, there were a lot of frustrating times but did you guys not enjoy watching Neuvirth play out of his mind early in the year? What about finally breaking out of the losing streak? Watching the emergence of John Carlson and Karl Alzner? The Winter Classic? That crazy game against Anaheim? The time after the trade deadline? Hell, I’ll even throw our series against the Rangers in here too. The memories of those will remain but unfortunately, so will the embarrassment of being swept by a divisional foe but that’s just the way things worked out. I’m definitely not going to say this season was a complete waste, though.

This brings me to my next point where I wonder about the future of this team. The playoff losses against Philadelphia and Pittsburgh looked like progress. Then there’s the loss against Montreal which you can consider a fluke by all means but getting swept by Tampa Bay seems like a step back for the organization. It’s even got some of the more level headed Caps fans calling for Bruce Boudreau’s dismissal. The problems with the team seem to be that the powerplay has been “solved” and hasn’t been adjusted for a year now and that Boudreau’s message isn’t getting across to the players. I said numerous times that I do not blame the Tampa series on Boudreau. The team was playing their hearts out against New York and for the first two games of this series, then they just completely turned off the switch. It’s all on them, not the coach.

However, the players giving up does not reflect good on Bruce at all. It shows that he may have lost the team and the players aren’t listening to his message anymore. That or they just don’t respect him. Don’t get me wrong, he’s a great coach and I’m not sure if he is the problem with this team but there’s only one way to find out. If it’s the players who are the root of the problem then we’ve got an even bigger mess on our hands.  Of course, there were numerous injuries to key players which affected us as well but all teams battle injuries, and we had a lot of depth to help cope with them.

My view on this is that everyone should take some time to let the decision-makers do their work. GM George McPhee stated that “he expects Boudreau to be back” which has a lot of fans fearing the worst but I’m willing to wait this out and see what happens. McPhee isn’t an idiot and knows what he is doing so I’m going to just wait and see what happens here. If he keeps Boudreau, then that’s fine but if he doesn’t then I certainly won’t be shedding any tears.

Leave a Reply

